A few weeks in

I’m now a few weeks into the development time of my graduate project, I’ve spent the past couple of weeks doing a lot of research around c++ programming language and also into available Development library’s that are suitable for creating a 2D physics game. I had decided upon using SDL2 which is a hardware accelerated “cross-platform development library designed to provide low level access to audio, keyboard, mouse, joystick and graphics hardware via OpenGL and direct 3D.”
SDL2 does have a downfall though, it is a fairly new library, only being released in early October (2013) so combining this with my inexperience with c++ may provide some difficulties down the line, I’m going to stick with it for now however but further down the line I may have to change to something like SFML.

My ability with c++ in the past 2 weeks has gone from absolute zero to being able to read and understand the majority as well as being able to write some small amount.

Update: after a while deliberating whether or not I should change from SDL2 I have decided that it would be in my best interest to change now rather than later, after looking at SFML’s website I can see that there is a lot more documentation and tutorial around which will help me progress and lean a lot faster.

Leave a Reply

