New direction decision:

Upon deriving a new direction there were some important decision to be made.

Firstly, the coding language that I was going to use needs to be chosen carefully. C++ is a large and complex language, in a month or so I was able to learn the basics and build a prototype of Acro, however in light of my new time frame and personal direction I’m not 100% sure that it is still the most suitable choice.

The main aims also needed to be re-evaluated with the creation of my graduate project, taking my new timeframe into account. Having my 10,000-word dissertation to write in before the deadline largely limits my flexibility as well.

Previously my main aim for my graduate project was solely geared towards the project idea and its needs. After a talk with Simon Perkins, my tutor, it was  apparent that I should gear the project more around myself as a way of promoting my skills and in order to possibly attract corporate attention. I will have to learn the ins and outs of the language I’m using, which is likely to be the area I will start my career in, so the decision is very important.

Leave a Reply

