Planning:

Throughout my project I went through numerous stages of planning. One of the planning techniques I used (that Simon my tutor suggested) which proved to be most helpful was my section list detailing the core features, which were required, and then also supporting features, which would complement my core features and improve my project. This was my list:

Core Features:

  • Leap motion controls
  • Camera Movement and animations
  • Physics engine
  • 3D space coded (primary level: Solar system)
  • Objects coded (movement, graphics, spawn and effect)
  • Interactivity with objects (avatar growth etc)
  • Website
  • Menus
  • Minimal graphics
  • sound

Supporting features

  1. Smooth camera transitions, smooth scaling objects and avatar
  2. Tutorial / level guide
  3. Keyboard controls
  4. Difficulty levels(lives – time limit, decrease in size))
  5. 3d graphics and filters for: movement, particles in space, scenery (e.g. planets or large objects to avoid), avatar (possibility of choice of colour or the like)
  6. Score board (local to start, data base would enhance greatly)
  7. Multiple levels, earths atmosphere, cellular (microscopic particles), Galactic (multiverses Giant gas clouds planets and stars) earths, Atmosphere (more difficult for models will be needed)

Combining this section list with the calander I have on my wall near my computer, I was able to have a make shift GANTT chart. Although I did not specifically write time brackets for each section, I was constantly aware of how many days I had left until my hand in and how long I assumed each section was going to take me. Using this method I was able to complete my core features with some time to spare and was then able to implement some of the supporting features I wanted to include.

Leave a Reply

